Early Birthplaces

Explore the history of European blast furnaces from 1800

Frühe Stätten der Eisenindustrie

Willkommen an den Geburtsstätten der europäischen Industriekultur!

Wir – das sind fünf Museen für Industriegeschichte aus Deutschland, England, Frankreich, Polen und Spanien - laden Sie ein auf eine Entdeckungstour zu den Ursprüngen der industriellen Revolution!

Mit Unterstützung des Programms Kultur 2000 der Europäischen Union und unter der Projektleitung des LVR - Industriemuseums, geben wir Ihnen mit unserem Projekt „Early Birthplaces of Europe“ einen Einblick in die Anfänge der Industrialisierung am Beispiel der frühen industriellen Eisenverhüttung um 1800.

Die Hochofentechnik dieser Zeit war gleichzeitig geprägt von internationalem Technologietransfer und regionalen Besonderheiten. Unsere Beispiele zur Eisengewinnung aus verschiedenen Ländern und Regionen zeigen Pionierleistungen, parallele Entwicklungen und erfolgreichen Technologietransfer. An verschiedenen Orten Europas war die Zeit reif für den Sprung in die Industriegesellschaft.

Informieren Sie sich auf unserer Website über die Hochofentechnik in den europäischen Ländern um 1800. Kommen Sie nach Oberhausen, Coalbrookdale, Le Creusot, Zabrze oder Terrassa und werden Sie selbst aktiv. Produzieren Sie als Hüttenmeister am digitalen Hochofen ihr eigenes virtuelles Eisen und lernen Sie die Schwierigkeiten früher industrieller Eisenherstellung kennen.

Diese Website soll ein lebendiges Forum sein und wachsen. Sie bietet auch anderen interessierten Partnern die Möglichkeit für die Darstellung der Entwicklung der Eisenverhüttung um 1800 in ihrer Region. Arbeiten Sie mit an einem historischen Datenpool zur europäischen Geschichte von Eisen und Stahl. Knüpfen Sie mit an einem Netz, das womöglich weitere Kooperationsprojekte anzustoßen vermag.

Logos der Projektpartner

Early Birthplaces

Explore the history of European blast furnaces from 1800

Early Birthplaces of Europe

Welcome to the birthplaces of European industrial culture!

We – that is five museums dedicated to the history of industry from Germany, England, France, Poland and Spain - would like to invite you on a voyage of discovery to the origins of the industrial revolution!


With support from the European Union's Culture 2000 programme and under the leadership of the LVR-Industry Museum, and the Rhineland Regional Council, our project "Early Birthplaces of Europe" gives you an insight into the beginnings of industrialisation using the example of the early industrial production of iron around 1800.


Blast furnace technology of this time was characterised by the international transfer of technology against a background of regional peculiarities. Our examples of iron production from various countries and regions show pioneering performances, parallel developments and a successful transfer of technology. The time had come to leap towards industrialisation in various places around Europe.

On our website you can find out about blast furnace technology in European countries around 1800. Come to Oberhausen, Coalbrookdale, Le Creusot, Zabrze or Terrassa and join in. In our digital blast furnace you can play the part of the master of works, producing your own virtual iron and gain an idea of the difficulties involved with the early industrial production of iron.

We want our website to come alive and to grow. It also offers other potential partners the opportunity to present the development of iron production at the turn of the nineteenth century in other regions. Contribute to a data pool documenting the history of iron and steel in Europe. Link into a network which seeks where possible to incorporate other cooperation projects.

Logos of the project partners